'Free Modem' Email Scam
Once again, we're indebted to Patrick Crispen, conductor of The Internet TourBus and veteran hoax-spotter, for alerting us to a brand new email scam.
The message reproduced below is bogus. PC Mall, Inc., from whom it purportedly originates, has issued the following warning to consumers:
If you receive e-mail notifying you that you have won a modem or other prize from PC Mall or MacMall that asks for your credit card number, please be aware that PC Mall or MacMall did not send this e-mail. Please do not reply with your credit card number or any other information!
The return address on the message does not belong to PC Mall or any actual company; it's an alias obtained through www.iname.com, a provider of "vanity" email services.
This is the text of the message:
|
From: modemX2@premiumproducts.com
Dear Internet User, You're the first person from our list of thousands, to win a FREE US Robotics 56K bps with new x2 technology, voice modem from PC Mall. PC Mall has been randomly giving selected internet users FREE 56K x2 bps voice modems. To show you, the customer, that PC Mall will be showing up everywhere in the future on the Internet. Our growing area has nearly doubled its popularity over the US in the past year, just from these contests alone! In order for you to receive your FREE 56K x2 bps voice modem from our company. We will need you to reply as soon as possible in this format: Name: ____________________
We will need you to pay for the Shipping and Handling with your Credit Card Only. For FedEx 2nd Day it is only $10.95. For UPS GroundTrac it is only $3.95. We will not charge for the shipping until the item is shipped. Please have it in this format: Shipping & Handling Type: (FedEx, UPS GroundTrac)
Credit Card Number: ____-____-____-____ Exp. Date: __/__
We want you to take advantage of our kindness. If you do not want this offer please reply to me with the word REMOVE. Also please visit our Internet site www.pcmall.com for great deals. Regards, PC Mall, Inc. |
Once again, the above message is a scam devised to steal credit card information. If you receive it, do not reply.
http://urbanlegends.about.com/library/blmodem.htm

